Good news rolling out for Facebook users!
The platform has introduced the much-awaited ‘Clear History’ tool for its users to give them control over their data privacy. It was the major concern for Facebook users, which CEO Mark Zuckerberg has resolved by introducing a new section ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ under the Settings menu on its web and mobile app platforms.
Now, users can control the ads they see in their news feed, which they find irritating and annoying. But how can users take control of it?
Here’s the catch!
Facebook is offering a solution to its users to delete their browsing data from its platform so they can avoid all dump ads by introducing a new ‘Clear History’ tool. Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced in a blog post – “The tool now is available in all countries to all Facebook users irrespective of the operating systems. Off-Facebook Activity marks a new level of transparency and control. We’ve been working on this for a while because we had to rebuild some of our systems to make this possible.”
However, this feature was made available to South Korean and Ireland users since August 2019, and now the platform will support this new tool for every country user.
From where users can control their data and browsing history on Facebook?
You will find a new section inside the Settings menu >> under Your Facebook Information, which is now available as ‘Off-Facebook Activity.’
It is the information that other websites and online businesses share with Facebook in order to target potential customers who visited these websites through Ads. These websites analyses and evaluate the interaction of users on their platform and then share such data with Facebook for marketing purpose.
These websites and businesses have flooded Facebook with ads that users now find a bit annoying and frustrating, as well. With respect to maintaining data privacy of its users, Facebook is providing a new tool so users can keep track of their own data. Through this, users can now take control over miscellaneous things and avoid ads and other data histories which they don’t want to take part in their social life.
How to use the ‘Clear History’ tool on Facebook to avoid these ads?
Step 1 | Open Settings menu, and on the left side, click on the ‘Your Facebook Information’ section.
Step 2 | Now, you will find the ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ option with a view button, click on it, and you will be redirected to a new page.
Step 3 | On this page, you will get to know each detail about what Off-Facebook Activity is and how it works. Read it carefully.
Step 4 | On the same page on the right side, you will find a column of ‘What you can do’ where you can find options such as Manage your Off-Facebook Activity, Clear history, Access your info, Download your info, and Manage future activity.
Step 5 | From ‘Manage your Off-Facebook Activity,’ you can view the activities shared with Facebook by businesses and organizations that you visit off Facebook by entering your Facebook password.
Step 6 | Through the ‘Clear History’ option, you can clear all your browsing history linked with Facebook.
Note: By clearing history doesn’t mean you will not see any ads; instead, you have to manage your data privacy in ‘Manage your Off-Facebook Activity’ to take control of your data.